Domesticated Bliss (or miss)….

Because not every women was born domesticated

Hump Day Bliss December 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — domesticatedbliss @ 7:37 am

I wanna rewind back a few years… back to palazzo pants, MC Hammer and scrunchies….no not that far.

Back to the 90’s, when all the craze for Christmas was jarred cookie mix…and “all you have to add” tag. This was the time of crinkled cut Christmas fabric squares, and layering the ingredients ever so perfectly. I wont lie, this is a good year (with the bad economy and all) to repeat this trend… I was sorta kinda considering doing something similar for an upcoming baby shower favor.

Anywho, at this time (I wont say my age) I was introduced to Cranberry Hootycreek cookies. At first I was not all that interested, I mean who wants a cookie with fruit? My mind was quickly changed by taste of the batter, and you can tell everything by the taste of the cookie batter.

Today, I want to share the Cranberry Hootycreek recipie!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup + 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

 

Directions

  1. Layer the ingredients in a 1 quart or 1 liter jar, in the order listed.
  2. Attach a tag with the following instructions: Cranberry Hootycreeks
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.
    2. In a medium bowl, beat together 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 egg and 1 teaspoon of vanilla until fluffy (Thanks to the advice of an allrecipes.com reviewer, I found out it takes 5-7 minutes in the electric mixer to get the butter, eggs, and vanilla to become fluffy). Add the entire jar of ingredients, and mix together by hand until well blended (If dough is dry and crumbly, sprinkle with a bit of water so it sticks together better, I also refrigerated the dough about 30 minutes before baking). Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto the prepared baking sheets.
    3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, or until edges start to brown. Cool on baking sheets, or remove to cool on wire racks.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies 

Now of course, you can leave the nuts out, or change them up, but you can’t leave out the Cranberries! Also if you want to jar the cookies for a gift just layer the dry ingredients in a mason jar, and add a tag with directions, and wet ingredients to add….oh so simple, and oh so yum!!

What is your favorite Holiday trend (like the year of Tickle Me Elmo, or Giga Pet)?? Or your favorite holiday cookie (Christmas Cracker Cookies, Haystacks, Buffalo Chip??)?? Do tell…it is cookie exchange time, and we all want to have the best cookies on our tray! ♥

 

4 Responses to “Hump Day Bliss”

  1. Zoe Says:

    I want your Mom’s peanut butter kiss cookies. But, I like it without the chocolate kiss in the middle. I always pick it out. I love the cookie and that it has sugar on it. MMM. I think I tried to make them one year, but, when I think back… I don’t remember them coming out right???

    I make a greek cookie called Kourdibethes (I can’t spell it). It’s a butter cookie covered in powdered sugar. It always tastes the best the day after you make them too.

  2. Taking the high road on the ready to eat/just add movement is the way to go. Believe it or not, my favorite cookie to get and give is Scottish short bread. Doubt that would be a pretty ingredient list to display in a mason jar.

  3. lissa Says:

    thoses look yummy~ the jar would be a great idea for teachers, right?

  4. jeanne Says:

    I laughed out loud reading the beginning of your post!!! Those cookies look really good…but you in MC Hammer pants would be the best!!!!


Leave a Reply

