Domesticated Bliss (or miss)….

Because not every women was born domesticated

Saving Money June 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — domesticatedbliss @ 1:04 pm

So Justin and I are saving money to buy a house that we are way in love with! Luckily for us it is a fixer upper “for sale by owner” and we seem to have time to get our credit in order and money in our pockets. So i created a spreadsheet with all our expenses ect… and while looking over things i noticed that the boy i call husband spends $50 a week or more on drinks and snacks at gas stations! As you can imagine i was shocked i could be using that money for new clothes or race entry fees or putting it in savings $50 a week x 52 weeks = 2600 a year! I do provide things for lunch but obviously not to his liking. So being the domesticate diva that i am i made him some trail mix that he loves so much! I added a can of mixed nuts + m&m’s + rasins and it cost me less than $10 to make him many servings of his beloved trail mix…on that note i have provided hime with G2 (gatorade) and sodas galore (the ones on sale) and extra peices of in season fruit … his little tummy cravings should be fixed. I have offered him $10 a week to use in the event that a tornado comes and takes his lunch box and he must buy a soda! I think if i can reign in his spending to save $250 a month our pocket will feel a little heavier.

Who ever else reads this, tell me what are some other money saving ideas you have?

Justin and I are putting away any spending on Monday and Tuesdays, that means NO MONEY SPENT! We are also beefing (not literally beef) our evening meals so we dont eat out and always taking along goodies for breakfast and lunches on road trips. I ride my bike to work at least 2 times a week to save on gas and i will be getting a library card this weekend to get movies and books.

But folks, tell me how do you save money?

 

2 Responses to “Saving Money”

  1. Suzanne West Says:

    ummm, I would really like if you would make me some of this snack-a-rooney. I will pay good money for it.

  2. Zoe Says:

    Hmm, I really like what you are doing here! You’ve actually given me some tips on how I can save. Do you guys go out and see movies or anything? You could always cut one movie out and have a stay-at-home night with a rental. That could save on a movie, snacks, drinks? Her Royal Highness Suze Orman says to try and not use a credit/debit card for one day. Then to not spend any money for a whole week. THEN, to not eat out for a WHOLE MONTH. They sound slightly difficult to me, but, I have a feeling they all work quite well. Your thoughts??


Leave a Reply

